Posted by: purestjoy | March 1, 2007

So, in further addition to my post about marriage, lack of marraige, and spiritual maturity, I was reading “Girl Meets God” by Lauren Winner and stumbled upon this … and found it worth noting:

“But I look at Hannah and I am so jealous because I believe that marraige is a school of sanctification. Sancitificaion doesn’t require an affair — there is plenty of sanctification in the faithful, ordinary daily grinds of lots of marriage. But I have seen clearly the holy work done in Hannah and Jim’s home this year. Being stuck with each other, being forced to stumble through her treachery and his heartbreak, has made them better spouses and better Christians. I have watched their marriage and I have seen that God has been who He said He would be. ‘He will be like a refiner’s fire or a launderer’s soap. He will sit as a refiner and purifier of silver; He will purify the Levites and refine them like gold and silver. He has used their marriage as soap.’
I praise God for His soapiness, and then I get so jealous that I think I might literally start to see green. It is the old question, the pathetic question: Why them, Lord? Why them and not me?
Later on in the chapter:
Later in the shower, I get it. I get that Hannah’s pregnancy is my own school of sanctification. God is sanctifying Jim and Hannah through marraige and parenhood, but He is not just blessing them and leaving me out in the unblessed cold. He is using my ridiculous jealous and my endless self-pity to sanctify me.
I will forget that, of course, at Hannah’s baby shower. Sitting through that baby shower, I will forget about the sanctification and only remember the pain. But then I will come home, and I will pray, and I will remember. I will remember that God does not cause our suffering, but He uses it. I will remember that He is using that baby shower to somehow grow me in the person He wants me to be.”

Such a good, refreshing way of looking at things, the “hardships” around me.

Responses

  1. Interesting quote. I had to read it several times before I understood what she was getting at. God sanctifies each of us differently.

  2. Wow… that sounds like an awesome book. Thanks for sharing that quote. It was a good reminder to me that God does work through our weaknesses, our trials and the other things in our lives that we see as “bad” to sanctify and purify us.

  3. Katrina – thanks for your comment on my blog. I completely understand you. If I let every thought that ever passes through my head out into public, I’m sure people would think I’d grown things much worse than two heads. 🙂 I’m so glad to hear of other Lauren Winner readers – I’m such a huge fan! I loved “Girl Meets God”! Her perspective on the Christian world is fresh, especially her twists with confession, etc. Not that I’m interested in going to confession, but hearing her viewpoint is challenging. I’m anxious to read “Mudhouse Sabbath.” Have you read it?

  4. Hey girlie –

    I like both websites. It doesn’t look like there is much difference when it come to usage. I love to read about what you are learning, as there is always a station in life to be jealous of. God works in all the stations in life, one not being better than any other. Why does our human frailties have to be so visible? 🙂

  5. I have not .. yet. 🙂 I have ordered Mudhouse Sabbath and Voice of Matthew from Amazon… I can’t wait until they get here! I just got started reading her, and so far, I love her. She writes in a way that I ‘get’, i.e, I can read it fairly quickly (not having to read the same pager over and over, trying to figure out what they’re getting at) and she still makes me think….always a plus. 😉

  6. I recently downloaded the first chapter of “the Voice of Matthew” offline. Let me know what you think of both books.

  7. Erica,

    yeah…I was hoping the comment system would be different…(like you could have threads or something) Oh well. 😦 I like the picture on this one…it’s purty!! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

