Posted by: purestjoy | July 11, 2007

So tonight, I was all excited because my good friend Erica (aka Zelda) was in town and we were meeting at our Starbucks. Because I was SOOO excited to see her, I got there eagerly 10 minutes before our scheduled time … thinking she too might be early and we’d have even more time together.

I waited …. and waited. I started to scribble on napkins….”Summer breeze, a life of ease, I like to eat lots of cheese …. Wobbly Chair, night air, I wish I hadn’t forgotten to nair”. Pretty soon, it was 20 minutes after I had been there. There was no beloved friend. Was she not as excited to see me as I was her? Was I her friend, or was she merely placatingme, and just telling me that she would meet me at Starbucks…but in actuality she just wanted to know how long I would wait, and soon she would call and say, oh she forgot she had to wash her hair, and couldn’t make it???? Well, I’ve always heard that pain is what makes the brightest diamonds…..So….here is poetry that was brought forth from my pain….

“Where O where can my Zelda be?                                                                                               I look for her so patiently

I fear I grow old                                                                                                                                 While I sit in the cold ….                                                                                                                    

……dark corner of her memory”

AND

“No stars, city night                                                                                                                     Telling myself it’ll be all right

Hard table                                                                                                                                Harder chairs,                                                                                                                                     Try to breathe,                                                                                                                                    But it’s smoggy air.

Have I been lied to or forgotten?                                                                                                     My heart starts to ache ….                                                                                                            Or is it just my bottom???”

Responses

  1. I am sorry for the pain I have caused you, but I hope you will remember me one day when you become a millionaire off of these poems. Remember, it was I who inspired you.

    Yours truly,
    Zelda (who needs to work on her punctuality)


Leave a Reply

Categories

