Posted by: purestjoy | January 22, 2008

Challenging verse of the week:

Galatians 5:13  For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.

Jaci and I are studying being fully surrendered … and this week it was on having the heart of a servant.  This verse was REALLY convicting to me.  America is known for it’s freedom.  But how often do we use that freedom to please ourselves and not to serve others??  (uh, let me tell you … all the time?? )   I think especially us American Christians, who have both Freedom in Christ AND great personal freedom in our country, we should be serving even more. But we don’t. (and I’m talking about myself here..like … a lott)  

And what a difference it would make if we did, you know??  So that’s my challenge of the week.   Look for ways to to serve others.  In any given situation, when given the choice to serve myself or serve others ….. choose others.

Leave a Reply

Categories

