Posted by: purestjoy | February 19, 2008

I have finally decided, after years and years of trying to like blueberries, that I just don’t like them. I have tried to like them. I have tried really hard to like them. I’ve tried them in muffins (tolerable). I’ve tried them in pancakes. I’ve listened when people said that I just haven’t had ripe ones, and if I had, I would love them. So I ate what they claimed to be ripe blueberries (ugh)

But I have come to the conclusion, at the ripe age of 28, that I just don’t and from now on, I shall quit trying to like them.

What strikes this as funny/weird to me …. is just how long it took me to just say “heck with it” in regards to blueberries. I never had this struggle with tomatoes. I have always disliked tomatoes, and I have never tried to like them. I’ll eat them, but given the choice, I would much rather give them to somebody else. And I always have … I’ve never felt pressure to feel like I have to like tomatoes, even though most of the people that I know, dearly love tomatoes. Is there some psychological thing to do with colors? I don’t know.

Just like I how I like country music, I awhile ago, stopped being ashamed of this. I have tried to dislike country music because it seems like everybody else can’t stand it. Sure there are some songs that I giggle at because they are SO horrendous. There are some songs that I turn the station over when I hear them come on. But, I like country music. I like being able to sing along (Loudly) and off key, with a twang. I like songs like “like a sock and a shoe, we go hand and hand like the rythmn and blues, got to have your love can’t live without, no doub it” I’m even getting used to ,and liking, the rolled eyes and comments I get, when I start singing my country love songs.

I guess part of this is maturity. It’s realizing that I am me. What I like, other people aren’t necessarily going to like. There are SO many people out in the world who have very hard opinions on what’s music, what’s not. What is a good book, and what isn’t. Movies — what makes a good movies, and what doesn’t. You are always going to find someone who thinks you are a moron for liking certain things. And you know what? That’s okay. As long as you don’t make me feel like a moron, I shall like you … otherwise, I shall just pat you on the head and pray for your maturity. I shall unashamedly like Josh Groban (and try not get hurt and offended when other people think that he’s off key and doesn’t have the voice of heaven) and I shall try not to make fun of what others are passionate about. If we happen to love the same things, that’s awesome ……… but just because you think Jane Austen is boring, I shall be your friend anyways. I won’t try to make you love it.

And you can have my blueberries, if you want.

Responses

  1. I’ll take your blueberries! I love them! I even travel 1 1/2 hours to pick them and freeze them every year. πŸ™‚ I also love tomatoes so I’ll take them, too – but you can keep the country music. I guess we’re opposite! πŸ™‚ Hope you are doing well.

  2. I’m glad somebody loves those things! πŸ˜‰ So any chance you don’t like chocolate … I’ll take your chocolate, you take my blueberries??? πŸ˜‰

  3. Sorry, can’t help you with the chocolate! πŸ™‚ I LOVE it! πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful weekend and enjoy that massage after all the stress and activity. πŸ™‚

  4. I heard if you put blueberries in Mac ‘n’ Cheese it is really good. You should try it. πŸ™‚

  5. Dear Erica,

    I think whoever told you that was smokin’ crack.

    Sincerely,
    Katrina πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

