Posted by: purestjoy | September 29, 2008

Weekend in a nutshell! (a very big nutshell)

♥ International Dinner on Friday night. It was a lovely time … even though the Bible Study group didn’t even show up. I’m not bitter. πŸ˜‰ Just kidding. They all had good reasons, babies being sick I guess is a good reason. It was a really good time. And I got to see puppies afterwards, so it’s all good.

♥ Huntington’s Disease Walk on Saturday morning. I woke up late, and had a most inconvenient detour .. but I made it 10 minutes before the walk started. It was the perfect morning for it. πŸ™‚

♥ “Fireproof” was good. I cried, which is a sure sign of a good movie. I also laughed, another sign of a good movie. πŸ˜‰ It is a low-budget film, so you have to take that into consideration for some parts, but really, it is good. I might do a post some day on WHY you should go see films like that, and just what it means when you do. I got into a discussion with a couple friends the other day about that. So anyways. You need to go see it. Yes, YOU.

♥ After the movie, and dinner & discussion …. everybody migrated over to our house for .. wait for it …. wait for it … a SURPRISE birthday party! πŸ˜‰ This one was none of my doing though. I just said “OF COURSE” when asked if they could come over here. It was a smashing success. Or at least, I had fun and that’s what matters, right? Of course right.

♥ Please be praying for Kathy (I believe .. Kathy or Katherine) .. I know her last name, but I don’t necessarily want to publish it for all the world to see. heh πŸ™‚ Her brother has a brain tumour and isn’t expected to make it through the week. 😦 She’s visiting him from New York, and sat behind us this morning at church.

♥ Speaking of church, our church did the sweetest thing … I opened up the bulletin this morning and saw “The flowers up front are in memory of Joyce’s brother, Richard, who passed away this week” They gave them to Mom after evening service tonight. They just wanted Mom to know that they were thinking of her and praying for her during this time. So yeah…:)

♥ I got asked today why all my friends were on the “fringes”. I’m thinking about writing a post about that. Besides the obvious answer of, “Well, I live on the fringe, so obviously my friends are going to be there”. But the whole idea about fringes, being in the “it” crowd, etc. etc. We’ll see. I shall ruminate upon it. πŸ™‚

Responses

  1. what kind of person asks a ? like that? I mean really-we’re not in school anymore….snd who determines what on the fringe is or isn’t….Personally,I find it offensive and deragatory…Was Jesus popular and “in”? The Pharisees and others didn;t seem to think so..And frankly,I would rather have a little flavor{flavor flav!!ha} than some milk flavored sops.How did you feel when this was asked of you?It brought back a lot of painful memories for me..why wasn’t I good enough? and they were? 1Sam.16:7,Acts 10:34,35 LOL

  2. Well, I actually wasn’t too offended … though personally I think it’s ridiculous. Which is why I want to write a post about it. πŸ˜‰ I mean, what really makes you on the fringes? I personally don’t think of myself nor my friends as “outsiders” at all. If you’re thinking with that mentality, who’s to say that WE’RE in the ‘it’ crowd and everybody else is on the outside? I do think the whole mentality of having cliques and everything is wrong on every level though πŸ™‚ (and VERY junior highish, heh) I agree, variety is the spice of life. πŸ™‚

    Btw, you sure are up early!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

