Posted by: purestjoy | March 8, 2009

I didn’t realize it had been so long since I had updated. No, I don’t really have a good excuse for it either. I wish I did. But … well I simply don’t.

Women’s Night went well. 🙂 Mom did AWESOME! Me? not so much. I’ve always found it to be a real plus when one makes sense when one speaks in public…;) I struggled with that a wee bit. 🙂 But I do hope and pray that the Lord used it, in spite of my weakness. (He is strong, when we are weak, yes???)

Today I have spent at home, in bed, due to lack of feeling good. =( How often is it that by the time Sunday hits, my body has just had it from the busyiness of the week. It’s not good, and I really need to start figuring out ways to not that happen. True, Sunday is a day of rest .. but it’s also the time to gather together with the church body, and that’s difficult to do when by the time Sunday rolls around, you are not feeling good because your body is saying “ENOUGH IS ENOUGH”. (at least that’s what my body does)

I have enjoyed multiple sermons while resting though. And I knew there was a reason I liked “Walk in the Word” — their theme verse is the same verse the Lord impresssed upon me when I was graduating from high school! =) Isaiah 30:21 “And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it,” when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left.”

The food for thought for the day came the series “Ordinary Friendship” ….

Are my friends stronger or weaker in Christ for the time they spend with me???

The “ordinary life, extraordinary God” series is on the life of David (I think …that’s what it seems to be anyways) So it’s talking about the friendship between David and Jonathan, a friendship which I have always loved. 🙂 I know David was the man after God’s own heart, but man, I think Jonathan was a simply amazing guy. Here he is helping the guy that he knows is going to take the throne, a place that he technically should have had. Yet he totally gave that up willingly. He knew that David was anointed by God, and he didn’t have any resentment or bitterness against Him or God. Anyways. 1 Samuel 23:16 “And Jonathan, Saul’s son, rose and went to David at Horesh, and strengthened his hand in God.“. What a wonderful thing … and SO convicting ….. Friendship is more than just being there. More than just asking how their week is going (while that is most definitely important so you know how to pray). More than just laughing and having a good time … but Lord, how can I be stengthening their hands in God???

Leave a Reply

Categories

