Posted by: purestjoy | August 11, 2009

Do you ever have those times where it seems everywhere you turn, it’s the same theme. Different things, different areas, but they all tie in together? That’s how it’s been for me.

For me it has been about diligence. But more than just diligence, it’s been about active obedience, I guess you could say? It started out with reading in Colossians with my roommates. In chapter three, it talks about putting to death sexual immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry and putting on compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience. The Christian life is more than just living life. It’s about actively pursuing God. It’s about actively putting on kindness, for example. I guess I sometimes had the attitude that it’s a fruit of the Spirit, so when it comes, it will come. And while that it so true, and while it’s through the Spirit that we can have true kindness, when a situation comes up, I need to LOOK (actively) and decide, “Okay. Is this something that I need to put to death? Do I need to PUT ON kindness here?”

I was glancing through the book “Respectable Sins” by Jerry Bridges and one quote caught my eye. I don’t have it right in front of me, but the gist was, in reference to the sin of worldiness, we need to not only ask ourselves what do I need to be doing to STOP the sin of worldiness, but look and see what can make me more Godly? What will promote Godliness? It’s amazing when you stop and think — “Is this promoting Godliness?” — how many things in our lives, don’t do that. Okay so then what can I be doing that does promote Godliness?

I was also reading through “Letters to a Young Conservative”, and two things caught my attention in that book. He mentioned in there that on a liberal campus, you can get caught up in it and not even know it, and that you need to actively resist it. Also, one way that professors or the “elite” dealt with the new freshmen when they asked questions, was not to debate about the question or statement that the person made, but was to ridicule so that they felt ridiculous for asking such a question. Even though this isn’t a Christian book, those two things gave me pause for thought.

The world out there, with all of it’s worldiness, it is so easy to get caught up in it and not know it. I do think much of Christianity is permeated with worldiness, and here is where the second part comes in. How many times have I been somewhere, where certain types of Christians are ridiculed? Or how someone is jokingly kidded about not being “with it”? There’s a fine line between being “hey, there is a something wrong here” in love or just ridiculing? You know what I mean? And then how am I actively resisting worldliness?

And then tonight, during Bible Study, Aaron was sharing something that he had shared with his church on Diligence, and how our lives are like gardens. Dude, there are so many wonderful garden analogies. 🙂 And having worked some in our garden, they really hit home. I think that will have to be another post though. 🙂

So anyways…my challenge for myself and for you is from Hebrews 10:24, “And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works.” Because in the discussion regarding diligence, and guarding our hearts and minds, somebody who was a newer christian mentioned how they found it very difficult because they was convicted about a certain TV show .. but then when they were among other Christians, the others were talking about how great that TV show was…even though it was filled with immoral things .. so then they began to think that you know, since other Christians were watching it, it must not be so bad. That was rather convicting. The verse in Romans states ,”It is good not to eat meat or drink wine or do anything that causes your brother to stumble.” We guard ourselves not only for our own holiness, but also for the holiness of the body of Christ.

Leave a Reply

Categories

