Posted by: purestjoy | January 28, 2010

Reading

I am happy to report that I have fulfilled my “quota” for January on reading.  I was really hoping to get back into a regular reading pattern for 2010 so that was one of my goals.  One fiction book, and one non-fiction book a month.

I finished “Celebration of a Disciplined Life”, that I had started earlier. I enjoyed it very much, and am in fact, going back through it again slowly.  My goal is to focus on one discipline at a time.  The first one is “Meditation”.  I’m hoping to supplement with other books on meditation, as well as studying the Scriptures on it,  but we’ll see how that goes.  That’s my plan, but sometimes my plans don’t go quite as I would like! hah. 😉

I also finished a book that was given to me by a friend, “Is that really you God” By Loren Cunningham, the founder of “Youth with a mission”.  It was a quick read, and offered some food for thought.  One thing I was convicted of was how often I don’t spend quality time in prayer.  When I really need to hear from God, spending a day or two ALL day in prayer isn’t something that immediately pops into my head, and that I believe is something that I really need to work on.   Why I think “flare prayers” will do it, I’m not quite sure.  (Not that flare prayers are bad, and we do always need to be in that constant communication, but there is something to be said in that getting away with God that I often find myself not doing..it’s like I’m fitting God around my busy schedule, instead of the other way around.)

The other non-fiction book I read was “And the Word came with Power” by Joanne Shelter. Again, a quick read, it was a missionary memoir that I did enjoy.  I tend to read nonfiction faster, when it’s more of a story, which the previous two are. 🙂 

The fiction that I read was “Black” by Ted Dekker, and let’s just say I can’t wait to start on the next book in the series.  I had a friend tell me about so I kind of knew what to expect, but I’m very interested to see where it goes from here.  There were a couple things in there that gave me pause for thought, which is always an added extra bonus.

I have a couple more books that are currently winging their way to me that I can’t wait to get started reading.   Happy Reading to y’all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

