Posted by: purestjoy | July 18, 2010

Recipes

As most of you know, I am not a cook.  I rarely cook for people other than myself & close family.  I’ve had one too many comments about my cooking so therefore, I shy away from baking for anybody other than those who really love me. hah. 🙂

But I do love zucchini.  LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE zucchini.   And this week two different people, who know of my love of zucchini, gave me some zucchini.  *insert high-pitched squeal of excitement here*    So I decided I would share my favorite zucchini recipes with you.  I have garnered these from allrecipes.com & recipezaar.com respectively. 🙂

Zucchini Bread

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups grated zucchini
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  1. Grease and flour two 8 x 4 inch pans. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. Sift flour, salt, baking powder, soda, and cinnamon together in a bowl.
  3. Beat eggs, oil, vanilla, and sugar together in a large bowl. Add sifted ingredients to the creamed mixture, and beat well. Stir in zucchini and nuts until well combined. Pour batter into prepared pans.
  4. Bake for 40 to 60 minutes, or until tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in pan on rack for 20 minutes. Remove bread from pan, and completely cool.

Zucchini Cobbler

This is my favorite zucchini recipe simply because it tastes like apple cobbler.  Or at least, what I remember apple cobbler tasting like.   I am allergic to apples and develop nasty hives whenever I have them, so I haven’t tasted apple cobbler in more than a decade.  But I am so excited whenever I get a chance to make THIS. 🙂  Note:  The last time I made it was incredibly sweet, so I might try knocking down the sugar some.

  1. PEEL AND CUT ZUCCHINI LENGTHWISE, STRIP OUT SEEDS, CUT IN 1/2″ SLICES, COOK IN BOILING WATER UNTIL TENDER.
  2. DRAIN, COOL IN COLD WATER FOR 5 MINUTES.
  3. DRAIN, ADD SUGAR, FLOUR, SALT, CINNAMON, CREAM OF TARTER AND LEMON JUICE.
  4. STIR WELL.
  5. ADD PINEAPPLE AND JUICE.
  6. MIX WELL.
  7. DO NOT BEAT.
  8. POUR INTO A GREASED BAKING DISH (13X9″ pan).
  9. SPREAD DRY CAKE MIX OVER TOP.
  10. DRIZZLE BUTTER OVER CAKE MIX.
  11. SPRINKLE NUTS ON TOP.
  12. BAKE AT 350F degrees FOR 60 MINUTES.

I like it served warm, with vanilla ice cream……….Yummers!

Leave a Reply

Categories

