Posted by: purestjoy | January 9, 2011

So far 2011 hasn’t been that great of a year.  I found out that two of my good friends are moving. The Colts are out for the season.  And other various and sundry things have happened that kind of make me cringe on the inside.

But, never fear, I still have high hopes!  Plus, the wonderful thing about knowing that the Lord is sovereign is resting in the fact that He loves me, and that whatever He has in store for my life — it is GOOD.  It is in that hope and that knowledge that I make plans & resolutions. 🙂

My over-all “Goal” for this year….I honestly can’t figure out how to word is right.   God-focused, people-centric.  Or God-centric, People-focused.  I’m not sure which one is theologically correct.  But basically God first and foremost, but then people.

1)  I had tried to do this one year and I totally failed.   But each month I am going to take a chapter out of the “Celebrations of Discipline” and focus on that.   This month (January) it is on meditation. “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord my rock and my redeemer.”

2) Celebrate Lent & Advent this year.   I completely skipped last year, and I missed doing them.  I have only “done” Lent one year, but for me, I really appreciated how it made me stop and think more.   One of my personal failings is I tend to get to busy doing things that times passes so quickly and I really feel that I lose out on things.  So…it helps me slow down and focus. 🙂

3)  Listen to the news more.  I am SO bad about not knowing what’s going on, and now that I’m in a position where I am talking to various people from all walks of life, and I need small talk…..I really should know what’s going on in the world.  One ways I am doing this is listening to NPR on the way home from work.

4)  Read more.  One fiction & one  non-fiction a month ( at least.)  Hopefully more, but I’m not going to over-burden myself here.

5)  Staying in contact with people better. Answering emails right away, calling people, in-person chats.

6) This should be more towards the top.  But alas and alack.  hah.  Live purposefully, especially in regards to time and money.  (time this means greatly limiting how and what I spend on the computer (Watching various shows, etc)   Money— my GOAL is to not buy anything without a coupon or on sale….but we’ll see how that goes. 🙂 )

7)  and as always……be more organized.  Stay on top of things.  I have found I do so much better with the above things when I am organized, healthy, etc. 🙂  Yet I purposefully didn’t put them above because……in years past I have found myself so focused on “being organized” — that I lose sight of the bigger picture and I don’t want to be so obsessed with having everything perfect and clean (which never happens) that I lose out on the people aspect of my life.

and with that……seeing as it is almost 2 am, I shall take meself off to dream land.   For some reason, I think it’s been harder coming back from Oregon then it was coming back from India!  I can’t seem to back to my time!

Leave a Reply

Categories

