Posted by: purestjoy | January 22, 2011

Man, I think every book I have read recently has been marked “REREAD.”

I just finished “Reckless Faith” by Beth Guckenbecker.   I’m just going to cut and paste my review on Goodreads.   Btw, if you are on Goodreads….you should add me. If you’re not on goodreads, well, you should be. 🙂

Read on January 21, 2011
review I started this two days ago, I think. A friend had given it to me for Christmas. I had issues putting it down yesterday. I had book in one hand and my other hand stirring tapioca pudding, as tears were streaming down my cheeks.

It is a non-fiction book. At first I was a little wary when it comes to people talking about “reckless faith” because images of going forth and expecting to God to follow (instead of the other way around) go through my brain. But this was not the case. I also tend to be a little cautious and a little more on the conservative side and at the beginning I was thinking that this was going to be going a little overboard charasmatically speaking. But this was not the case.

I found myself wanting to underline, wanting to write down some of the quotes. It was a fairly simple, easy to read, yet solid book that challenges you. To those who know me, you know that orphans have always tugged at my heart strings and this definitely pulled at them. Scripture was quoted and used throughout (passages in context, no less! 😉 ) I personally could really identify with her. I could see myself in some of the situations, and struggling with the questions & issues. Some of the situations were completely heart-breaking. Yet this wasn’t filled with cliches.

I would recommend this book even if you don’t have a heart’s call for orphans because I believe it challenges your faith over all. 🙂 (P.S. I have no idea if it was “well-written”, or any of the other technical terms) I just know that it resonated with me. 🙂

“It takes no effort to look down on people. It’s actually the lazy thing to do. When I think of the people I have looked down on in the past, they are usually people whose lives I couldn’t relate to. They lived in different times or places, and it was too much work for me to try to understand their point of view.”

“Meme sees people for who they are, not what they are, as as cliched as that sounds, it rarely happens. Through her example, I now see a daughter instead of a prostitute, an adult orphan rather than a wife beater, and a desperate mother instead of a drunk. She has taught us to look at the people we serve who live in the most desperate of circumstances in terms of their relationships rather than the labels.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

