Posted by: purestjoy | April 21, 2011

  • Yesterday I had dinner with the roomies at an Indian restaurant. It was very good.  So good in fact that I decided to leave my wallet there so I could go back again today.  Aye yi yi.  For some reason, I cannot keep my wallet in this new purse of mine. I do NOT know what it is!   o_O   It’s big enough that it should just land in there no matter where I put it. 😉
  • I decided to get Thai food tonight, seeing as my plans for this evening did not go as I had planned due to the fact that I had to go pick up my wallet.  So I got Thai food because I wasn’t going to have time to cook before Bible Study.  As I was leaving the lady instead of the usual what was I expecting “have a good night”, “said, Don’t hit any potholes!”  I almost laughed out loud right then and there.  Where else but Indiana???
  • Tonight’s Bible study was SOO GOOD!   It was about living the Spirit-filled life.  I think so many Christians today try to do everything by themselves — trying to make themselves good enough so they can come before God to ask for things.  But, “flesh can’t reform flesh”.  I know I get caught up in this myself.
  • Rom 8:11  If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit who dwells in you. ”  I mean, think about it.  The spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the DEAD…dwells in ME!  I guess it just put in a new light for me.   I mean, talk about POWER!  🙂  But in all this, none of the change is to glorify ME ….for…John 16:13-14 “When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all the truth, for he will not speak on his own authority, but whatever he hears he will speak, and he will declare to you the things that are to come.  He will glorify me, for he will take what is mine and declare it to you.”  All of this is to glorify Jesus Christ. AND (this is my own addition) if something claims to be from the Spirit and is NOT glorifying to Jesus Christ, you better begin to question whether it is indeed from the Holy Spirit.
  • Also, she explained flesh vs. spirit in such a kewl way that made total sense.  It’s like a plane ….the law of gravity vs. law of aerodynamics.  The law of gravity is STILL there when the plane is in the air, but the law of aerodynamics is overpowering it.  (As a side note:  When we sit in a plane, I don’t understand the law of aerodynamics (some people do. I don’t. heh).  Just as….I don’t know how the Spirit controls.   But I have a faith … it’s a mystery. )   (which okay happens to be one of the things that I like about the aspect of orthodoxy, the “mystery” I don’t agree with other parts, but I think we somehow try to explain away the mystery….when, well….we can’t. 🙂 )
  • I am really digging Selah at the moment. 🙂   I am blasting it a lot these days……:) 🙂   So of course, I have to share.    (This song goes so well with what we learned today too)
Responses

  1. I liked it! Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

